Annie Raised My Spirits

by duncapher

I gave him a book that I found on the floor of the train station. It was a bible. “God chose the foolish things of the world that he might put to shame those that are wisest. And he chose the weak things of the world that he might put to shame those that are strong.”

In a castle on a hill, with a choir, the morning rung out with the breeze, Autumnal, and I rose with the orange bombshell sun to the occasion, the sun in my eyes, and I waited for you. How I’ve longed to see you again, god! And to talk to you! Just look at you! You are so beautiful, I can’t stand it. Hah! I love – I love the way I feel around you. Gee I don’t know. Annie asked me if I’d talked to you the other day. My heart melted. I didn’t know what to say and said, “No,” though it wasn’t true, and she told me she had. It absolutely melted my heart just to think that she thought I might have been talking to you – it was the most wonderful thing in the world to know that somewhere, to someone else, you and I were truly, in our way, connected… do you understand me? Probably not, after all I’m a fool. I’m totally disconnected. I’m a wild disconnected fool and you have no reason to like me. But god don’t you know I like you! I like you and I must! I must!